Darkest Drae Trilogy by Raye Wagner

Blood Oath (Darkest Drae, #1) Shadow Wings (Darkest Drae, #2)Black Crown (Darkest Drae, #3)

*Spoilers*

Wow! I really surprised myself by liking this series, because I was a bit skeptical about reading this. I just wanted a book about dragon shifters, ’cause why not?  But, digress. Back to the books. 

I kind of expected the first book to be either intensely boring or so intense that I didn’t want to read it anymore which is what usually happens for me when I read a book that has torture or imprisonment for a large part of the book. However, that’s not what happened, it was engaging and interesting. It was intense but not to the point where I needed to put the book down and breathe. 

The characters were amazingly nuanced and great arcs. Ryn was hilarious, like almost -pee-your-pants-snort-milk-out-your- nose funny. 

Image result for spitting water gif

The storyline was amazing as well, there was a great progression with both the characters and the story itself. There were tears, anger(no angst, more like justified anger)happiness, all the feels. It was a great story and I loved it.

Rating: 5 Stars!!

Some Quotes:

“He crossed the room to the wardrobe, picked a black aketon from a row of black aketons, and pulled it over his head. It must be so hard for him to decide what to wear each morning .” -BLOOD OATH

“I stifled a yawn as I trudged after Lord Broody-pants and snickered at my own joke. Broody-pants. Classic. He was extra broody today.” – BLOOD OATH

“Be at the castle at first light,” Tyrrik said, I assumed, to Kamoi. The Drae knew better than to talk to me in that voice.” – SHADOW WINGS

“Their matching grins were so wide and gleaming I drew back. I’d just woken up; I didn’t want to see that many teeth right now.” -BLACK CROWN

“My lips twitched, and if I had to venture a guess from the way the prince paled, I’d say the gesture looked borderline psychotic. I’m on a roll.” – BLACK CROWN

“Give me pain, take my will, but do not get between me and rosemary potatoes.” – BLACK CROWN

Leave a comment